Medical (s)Care

She was an intern at our local hospital here in Cape Town. From Germany, fresh from high school and never set foot in a university. At night, she would drag home all sorts of medical equipment and practiced how to draw blood on my son, who was fifteen at the time. Of course, I did advise him to end this practice immediately when I heard about it. She also inserted some stainless steel thing into the chest of a patient she decided had water that needed to be drained. This she did after a doctor told her otherwise. Then she used a hammer on a man who appreciated her looks and reduced an obnoxious digit to normality.

Unqualified, apparently her parents were doctors in Germany. That doesn’t qualify her to treat patients, does it?

Every time I have visited the hospital since around 2008, I had to have my personal records corrected. Someone removes information from my file. One becomes a tad frustrated with this.

Then the urine sample they require but then put up a sign on the locked toilet door, advising that it is out of order. No alternative solutions mentioned. now where shall I produce what is required? After having been messed around so many times, I marched down to the Medical Superintendent’s office and promptly presented my little glass on the desk there. Have I mentioned it is some distance, maybe about a hundred metres down long passages?

Two young medical professionals, fresh from university, did not know where ADENOIDS are located in the body. One doctor pointed at her lower jaw and told a patient that adenoids were located there. Imagine having your appendix removed.

After having waited ten years for new eyeglasses, I received mine – but the bifocal lenses were not there and I can drive well but read none. I decided to rest my case and suffer in silence.

I was given a combination of medication that caused a visiting university lecturer to say: “That will make him insane. I fail any A-student who prescribes that even in a final exam.” They gave it to me for years and it did cause problems.

While I visit the Medical Superintended with a little jar in my hand, my wife sees a puddle of water on the floor. She alerts staff who do nothing. My wife then warns them that somebody may fall and get injured, then the hospital can be sued for a large amount. They take no action. An elderly lady falls and only then do they push a trolley over the water. But my wife had to call a nursing sister from ER to attend.

Coming from a city where the world’s first heart transplant was carried out, where major medical science development had taken place and where the world’s first penis transplant had taken place, one can only shake you head in unbelief.

Leave a Reply

